Best Screen-Free STEM Subscription Boxes for Kids (2026): An Honest Two-Year Review
Share
By the Nature Kids Co. editorial team · Last updated: October 2026
Quick answer
For most kids aged 8 to 13 who like building things, a monthly engineering kit is the strongest screen-free subscription gift available right now, and CrunchLabs Build Box is the one we subscribe to. The build itself needs no device, because a printed instruction booklet ships in the box. The honest catch is storage: after two years, finished builds accumulate faster than most families expect.
Quick Navigation:
Why a subscription gives differently | What "screen-free" actually means here | How I picked these | The picks | Rather not subscribe? | Two years in: what actually happened | The honest drawbacks | What happens to the builds afterwards | How to actually give it | Who this isn't for | Frequently asked questions | The short version | SourcesWhy a subscription gives differently
A subscription gift changes the shape of the giving rather than the size of it. One thing gets opened in December, and then something arrives again in February, and in May, and in August.
This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We strive to give honest, well-vetted recommendations.
In our house this started as a gift from my son's grandparents. They wanted to give something that wasn't another plastic thing that would be ignored by New Year's, and they wanted it to last. Two Christmases later, they've renewed once and plan to keep going.
The practical question every grandparent asks is what the child actually opens on the day, and it has a straightforward answer that most gift guides skip. You have two options:
- Subscribe and time the first box. Start the subscription so the first box ships before Christmas, then wrap the box itself. This is what we do. The child unwraps a real thing, and a note inside explains that another one comes every month.
- Buy a gift certificate. CrunchLabs emails the certificate to the recipient on a date you choose; they redeem it and enter a shipping address, and the first box ships after that activation. Nothing arrives in the post beforehand, so if you want something under the tree you'd print the certificate yourself. We haven't used this route, so I'm describing how CrunchLabs says it works rather than how it felt.
One detail worth knowing before you buy: a gifted CrunchLabs subscription does not renew on its own. It renews only if the recipient adds their own billing information. That's genuinely useful if you're a grandparent who doesn't want a card charged indefinitely, and it explains why a renewal has to be an active decision each year.
What "screen-free" actually means here
"Screen-free" gets used loosely in gift guides, so here is the precise version.
Build Box and Creative Kit ship with a printed, illustrated, step-by-step instruction booklet in the box. CrunchLabs also produces videos for each build, and states on its Creative Kit page that internet access is needed for the video but is not required to complete the build. In practice, in two years of Build Box, my son has never used the build videos. He opens the booklet and works from that.
What a build actually looks like
The printed booklet open on the table, no device in the room. This is what the build looks like in our house.
So the building is genuinely off-screen. What isn't off-screen is the wider CrunchLabs world: there is a YouTube channel, and my son watches it.
I'm fine with that, and I want to be specific about why rather than pretend the screen doesn't exist. The channel has real educational content and it's entertaining, which is the point of it. What I like less is that a company selling to children is also marketing to them there. Given how little screen time we do overall, I've decided that trade is worth it. Another parent could reasonably decide otherwise.
That framing — what a screen is displacing, rather than how many minutes it runs — is roughly where paediatric guidance has landed too. The American Academy of Pediatrics no longer recommends a fixed hourly screen-time limit, stating that there isn't enough evidence that specific limits produce a benefit, and directs families to look at the quality of media interactions rather than the quantity alone (AAP screen time guidance, updated May 2025). The AAP frames the concern as displacement — whether media use is crowding out sleep, physical activity and other things — and suggests families deliberately crowd those things back in. The AAP also notes that family rules focused on balance, content and communication are associated with better wellbeing outcomes than rules focused on screen time alone; that is an association reported by the AAP, not a demonstrated cause.
None of that is a claim about any product. It's the reason a gift that puts a screwdriver in a child's hand for two hours on a Saturday is worth considering, whatever else is on the tablet.
One exception worth flagging
CrunchLabs Hack Pack is not screen-light. The brand states it needs a Mac, Windows or Chromebook computer if you want to do the coding and hacking side of it. If screen-free is the reason you're buying, Hack Pack is the wrong box.
How I picked these
We've had monthly kits in this house for about four years now — a couple of years of KiwiCo, then CrunchLabs — so a fair bit of this is just what I've watched happen at my own kitchen table.
For everything else I went to each brand's own pages and checked the things you actually need to know before you buy: what age it's graded for, whether the instructions come printed or on a screen, how often boxes arrive, where they ship, and what happens with gifts and renewals. I also searched the CPSC recall database and didn't find a recall for CrunchLabs. That's a snapshot rather than a clean bill of health, so it's worth a look yourself before you buy.
What I haven't done is any lab or materials testing. Where I tell you how something went, that's my own house. Everything else is the brand's published information, and you can read more about how we approach all this on our standards page.
The picks

CrunchLabs - Build Box Subscription
A monthly engineering kit for ages 8 to 13. Each box contains the parts and a printed illustrated instruction booklet for one build, with optional videos. Everything needed is included.
Age grading: 8-13, per CrunchLabs. This is the brand's own grading, not an independent assessment.
Screen needed to build: No. Printed booklet included; video optional.
Cadence and shipping: Monthly, to the USA, Canada and 40+ countries.
Price tier: Mid-to-high for a monthly kit. Gift plans run from roughly $110 for three boxes to around $350 for twelve in the US, though prices change — check before you buy.
Trade-offs: Builds accumulate quickly - see the drawbacks section below. The age grading skews toward the upper end of the range for building independently.
See Build Box plansThe other two CrunchLabs lines
I haven't used either of these, so what follows is the brand's published specification rather than my experience. I'm including them because the age question is the first thing anyone buying this gift runs into.
Creative Kit, graded ages 6-10. The younger line, oriented toward open-ended making rather than mechanical engineering. It ships monthly to the USA, Canada and 40+ countries, and each box includes a printed step-by-step illustrated booklet as well as a video; CrunchLabs states internet is needed for the video but not to finish the build. If you're choosing between this and Build Box for a 7 or 8 year old, my experience of starting a nearly-7-year-old on Build Box is in the section below — the short version is that it worked with an adult sitting alongside.
Hack Pack, graded ages 14 and up. Robotics and coding, shipping every two months rather than monthly, to the USA, Canada and the EU excluding Iceland. CrunchLabs states a Mac, Windows or Chromebook computer is needed if you want to code and hack the builds, so this is not a screen-free option and I wouldn't buy it as one. My son is interested and isn't there yet.
Alternatives we looked at
We earn nothing from the links below — they're here because they're genuinely worth considering, and one of them we used for years.
KiwiCo — this is the one I can speak to. My son had a KiwiCo subscription for a good two years before CrunchLabs, and it was good. He eventually drifted from it, which is honestly what happens with most things at that age. CrunchLabs has held his interest longer so far, but I wouldn't steer anyone away from KiwiCo on the strength of that — two years of a kid actually doing the projects is a subscription that did its job.
KiwiCo runs several lines by age. Tinker Crate covers roughly the Build Box age range, and Eureka Crate is graded 12 and up with one build per crate, materials and instructions included. Subscriptions start at around $24 a month. KiwiCo's pages don't specify what the projects are made from, so I can't tell you how the materials compare.
Green Kid Crafts — a smaller monthly STEAM box that markets itself on recycled and eco-conscious materials. If the environmental side matters more to you than the engineering, that's the one to look into. I haven't used it and haven't verified its materials claims, so I'm pointing you to it rather than recommending it.
Rather not subscribe? Pick individual kits instead
A subscription isn't the only way to give this kind of gift. If you'd rather not commit to twelve months, or you'd like to choose each build yourself, single kits let you buy one project at a time and match it to the child.
The ones we carry are from Kitsville, a maker of DIY STEM kits. Each kit is a single build, such as a solar Mars rover, a walking robot, a hydraulic arm, a hand-crank flashlight or Leonardo da Vinci's self-supporting bridge. The kits are made mostly from pre-cut wooden pieces, with small motors, gears, solar panels or simple circuits where the build needs them. Kitsville grades each kit separately, from 6+ for the simpler mechanical builds to 12+ for the remote-control cars, and they run from about $13 to $50 each in our shop.
Kitsville's Solar Mars Rover: pre-cut wooden pieces, solar panels and a small motor. Product photo from our shop listing.
How single kits compare to a subscription:
- You choose what arrives and when. That also sidesteps the summer pile-up from the drawbacks section below, since nothing turns up that you didn't ask for.
- You lose the monthly surprise. The "something arrives again in February" part of the gift is gone unless you plan it. One way to keep it is to buy three or four kits at once and hand them out over the year.
- Builds still accumulate. Fewer of them, but each finished kit is still an object that lives somewhere.
Browse our STEM & Science Kits
Two years in: what actually happened
This is one child, in one house. It is not evidence about what these kits do for children generally, and I'd be sceptical of anyone who told you otherwise.
We came to CrunchLabs from KiwiCo, which my son had for a good two years and enjoyed before his interest tailed off. So the comparison below isn't me against a brochure — it's one subscription after another in the same house, with the same kid.
My son was almost 7 when the first box arrived. He's 8 now. That start was on the young side for a box graded 8 to 13, and it showed — early on he needed me sitting next to him for parts of a build.
He doesn't now. He takes the box, opens the booklet, and does the entire build start to finish in one sitting, on his own. For a kid who found it genuinely hard to stay with something that wasn't working, watching that change over two years has been the actual value of this subscription — more than any individual kit.
The frustration was real, and I want to be honest that it didn't vanish. There were builds that didn't work the first time and evenings that got difficult. What changed was how long he'd stay with a problem before it became a crisis, and how he handled it when a step failed. That shifted gradually, across many boxes, and I'd attribute it to repetition and to the fact that the kits are designed to be finishable — not to anything magic in the box.
The most recent one was Air Ball, and it was a hit. The finished builds don't get abandoned either; he uses them and collects them.
What the research does and doesn't say
There is research on making and tinkering as learning activities, and it's worth knowing what it actually found, because it's more modest than the marketing around STEM kits suggests.
A literature review prepared for the National Academies' Committee on Successful Out-of-School STEM Learning found that making and tinkering environments tend to reframe mistakes as part of the process, and associated participation with confidence, persistence and resourcefulness (Vossoughi & Bevan, 2014, literature review). The same authors were direct about the limits: the published literature is not extensive, leans heavily on qualitative methods, and has little long-term follow-up.
A survey of 107 maker educators published in Thinking Skills and Creativity asked what they observed when projects failed. Forty-two per cent reported that young people learned from mistakes and 39% observed persistence or resilience — but 32% also reported young people quitting projects, and 20% reported frustration (Maltese, Simpson & Anderson, 2018, survey of educators). That is a record of what educators reported seeing, not a measurement of what happened to children, and the authors note their respondents were probably already inclined to value failure as a teaching tool.
Both halves of that matter. Building things can be a good setting for learning to stay with a hard problem. It also produces kids who quit. Mine quit plenty of times early on.
The honest drawbacks
Accumulation is the biggest one. This is my main reservation about the whole model. A finished build arrives every month and each one is a physical object that lives somewhere. They get used, they get collected, and then there are a lot of them. If you have limited space or a low tolerance for stuff, factor that in before you commit to twelve months.
Summer is a problem, and I've made peace with it. Ours slows right down when the weather's good, because he'd rather be outside. Boxes sit unopened for weeks. We're fine with that — he catches up when it turns cold, and there's no expiry on an unopened kit. But you should expect a pile-up rather than a steady monthly rhythm, and if unopened boxes would nag at you, that's worth knowing.
A company selling to children is also marketing to them. The YouTube channel is entertainment as well as education, and it exists partly to sell subscriptions. I've decided that's an acceptable trade in our house.
The age grading is the brand's own. 8-13 is CrunchLabs' assessment, not an independent one. Our experience starting at nearly 7 was that it worked with an adult nearby, and not really without one.
It won't suit every child. See the research above: quitting and frustration are documented outcomes of making activities too. A child who wants the finished object rather than the process will find this a slog.
What happens to the builds afterwards
I'm not going to describe these kits as eco-friendly, because a new box of parts is manufactured, packed and shipped to your house every month, and the builds are a mix of materials including plastic. That is the honest starting point.
There are some considered elements in the packaging, though, and they're worth naming. In the boxes we've received, the parts arrive in bags marked compostable, and the outer boxes and the plastic parts can go into recycling. I should be precise about the limits of that: CrunchLabs does not publish packaging specifications I could verify, and bags labelled compostable often require an industrial composting facility rather than a home compost heap, so check the marking on your own box and your local facility's rules before assuming either.
What we actually do when builds accumulate: plastic parts go into plastic recycling, and a good number of parts are wooden. Many builds can be disassembled, and a completed kit can be passed on to another child rather than binned — there's an active secondary market for used Build Box kits on resale sites, so reselling is a real option rather than a theoretical one.
If the lowest-waste option is what you want, a subscription that manufactures and ships something new every month is not it. If you're weighing it against a comparable volume of one-off toys, the calculation is different, because the builds in our house get used rather than discarded. That's a judgement for your own household, and I'd rather lay out the trade than tell you it's solved.
Quick comparison
| Box | Ages | Cadence | Screen needed to build? | Price tier | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CrunchLabs Build Box | 8-13 | Monthly | No - printed booklet included | Mid-high | Builds accumulate; skews older for solo building |
| CrunchLabs Creative Kit | 6-10 | Monthly | No - printed booklet included | Mid-high | Less mechanical; we haven't used this line |
| CrunchLabs Hack Pack | 14+ | Every 2 months | Yes - computer needed for coding | High | Not a screen-free option |
| KiwiCo Eureka Crate | 12+ | Monthly | Not specified | Mid | Materials not specified on the brand's page |
| KiwiCo Tinker Crate | ~9-16 | Monthly | Not specified | Mid | We used KiwiCo for two years and liked it; he drifted from it eventually |
| Kitsville single kits (no subscription) | 6+ to 12+, varies by kit | One-off | Not specified | Low-mid per kit | Sold in our shop; choose kit by kit |
Age grading, cadence and instruction format are each brand's own statements. Specifications and prices change, so check before you buy.
How to actually give it
- Decide which box by age, not by enthusiasm. A child at the bottom of a range will need an adult nearby. That's workable, but plan for it rather than being surprised.
- If you want something under the tree, start the subscription early enough for box one to arrive before the day, and wrap that box. Put a note inside explaining that another one comes every month, so the child understands the gift is twelve things rather than one.
- If you'd rather not handle logistics, buy the gift certificate. It's emailed to the recipient on a date you pick; they redeem it and the first box ships after they activate it. Print it if you want something physical to hand over.
- Tell the recipient's parents it won't auto-renew. A gifted plan renews only if the recipient adds billing information. That's a feature for most grandparents, but it does mean somebody has to make a decision next year.
- Check shipping before you buy for a child outside the US. Build Box and Creative Kit ship to the USA, Canada and 40+ countries; Hack Pack's range is narrower.
- Talk about storage with the parents. Twelve builds is twelve objects. It's a kind gift to raise it rather than let it arrive as a surprise.
Who this isn't for
A child who wants to play with a finished thing rather than make one. A household that's already tight on storage. Anyone expecting a structured curriculum — this is a hobby kit, not a course. And if your reason for buying is that you've been told a STEM kit will change how a particular child concentrates or behaves, please read the research section again: that is not what the evidence supports, and it isn't a promise I'd make about my own child, let alone yours.
Frequently asked questions
Are STEM subscription boxes worth it?+
It depends on whether the child likes the building more than the finished object. We've had monthly kits going for about four years between KiwiCo and CrunchLabs, and they've been worth it here because my son actually does the builds and then keeps using them. The real cost isn't only money — it's the steady accumulation of finished builds, and the fact that a monthly delivery makes an abandoned project more visible, not less.
What age is CrunchLabs Build Box for?+
CrunchLabs grades Build Box for ages 8 to 13. That's the brand's own grading. We started at nearly 7 and it worked with an adult sitting alongside for parts of each build; it became a solo activity later.
Do you need a screen or the internet to build a CrunchLabs kit?+
No for Build Box and Creative Kit. CrunchLabs includes a printed step-by-step illustrated instruction booklet in the box and states that internet is needed for the video but not to complete the build. Hack Pack is different: the brand states it needs a computer for the coding side.
Can you give a CrunchLabs subscription as a Christmas gift?+
Yes, two ways. Start the subscription so the first box arrives before the day and wrap it, or buy a gift certificate, which CrunchLabs emails to the recipient on a date you choose; the first box ships once they redeem it and enter a shipping address. Only the first route puts a physical box under the tree without you printing something.
Does a gifted subscription renew automatically?+
No. CrunchLabs states that a gifted subscription renews only if the recipient adds their own billing information.
What do you do with the builds afterwards?+
Ours get used and collected, and eventually they accumulate. We recycle plastic parts, and a good number of parts are wooden. Many builds can be taken apart, passed on to another child, or resold — used kits do turn up on resale sites. In the boxes we've received, parts arrive in bags marked compostable and the outer boxes are recyclable. That said, a new box is still manufactured and shipped every month, so I wouldn't describe these as low-waste products.
Is a building kit good for a child who gives up easily?+
I can tell you what happened with mine: he found it hard at first, and over two years he got noticeably better at staying with a problem. That's one child, and I can't tell you it will happen for yours. The research on making activities reports both outcomes — educators surveyed in one study described young people learning from mistakes and persisting, and also described young people quitting and getting frustrated. No kit is a treatment for anything. If you have concerns about a child's attention or frustration, that's a conversation for their paediatrician, not a purchase.
What's the difference between Build Box, Creative Kit and Hack Pack?+
Creative Kit is graded 6-10 and oriented toward open-ended making. Build Box is graded 8-13 and focused on hands-on engineering; both ship monthly with printed instructions. Hack Pack is graded 14 and up, ships every two months, covers robotics and coding, and needs a computer.
The short version
If you're buying for a child between 8 and 13 who likes making things, and you want a gift that isn't another screen, a monthly engineering kit is a strong option and Build Box is the one we've lived with. Start it early enough to wrap box one, tell the parents about the storage, and know that a gifted plan won't renew itself.
And be honest with yourself about the child you're buying for. This gift rewards a kid who enjoys the process of building. For a kid who wants the finished thing, twelve boxes of parts is eleven disappointments after the first.
Related guides
Sources
- American Academy of Pediatrics, Center of Excellence on Social Media and Youth Mental Health (updated 2025). Screen Time Guidelines. (Professional society guidance). https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/media-and-children/center-of-excellence-on-social-media-and-youth-mental-health/qa-portal/qa-portal-library/qa-portal-library-questions/screen-time-guidelines/
- Vossoughi, S., & Bevan, B. (2014). Making and Tinkering: A Review of the Literature. National Research Council Committee on Out-of-School Time STEM. (Literature review). https://sites.nationalacademies.org/cs/groups/dbassesite/documents/webpage/dbasse_089888.pdf
- Maltese, A. V., Simpson, A., & Anderson, A. (2018). Failing to learn: The impact of failures during making activities. Thinking Skills and Creativity, 30, 116-124. (Survey of 107 maker educators). https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S187118711730175X
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Recalls database. (Regulator database). https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls
- CrunchLabs. Subscription comparison. (Brand specification page). https://www.crunchlabs.com/pages/subscription-comparison
- CrunchLabs. Creative Kit subscription. (Brand specification page). https://www.crunchlabs.com/products/creative-kit-subscription
- CrunchLabs. Gift certificate: Build Box. (Brand specification page). https://www.crunchlabs.com/products/gift-a-build-box-subscription
- KiwiCo. Eureka Crate. (Brand specification page). https://www.kiwico.com/eureka
Product details, pricing and age grading come from each brand's own pages. Specifications change, so please confirm before you buy. Spotted something out of date or wrong? Tell us and we'll fix it.